Monday, April 23, 2007

Dibalik Insiden Elias Rossi di Turki

Insiden valentino Rossi (Yamaha Fiat) dan Toni Elias (Honda Gressini) dilap 13 MotoGP Turki tanggal 22 April 2007 mengingatkan kita insiden Sete Gibernau (Movistar Honda Gressini) dan Rossi (Yamaha Gaulossies). Pada saat itu Rossi merangsek dari sebelah dalam tikungan untuk mendahului sete dan menggiring sete hingga ke gravel. Di Turki kejadian sama terjadi, tetapi Rossi ada di posisi luar hingga rossi tergiring Toni Elias meskipun tidak sampai out seperti Sete saat di Jerez 2005. Saat di Jerez Sete marah dan menuding Rossi tidak fair. Pada saat konferensi pers dia hanya menjawab " I know Gibernau (Sete) is angry, but it's race". Insiden Rossi-Elias di Turki juga menimbulkan sumpah Rossi dan tidak ada maaf untuk Elias katanya. Yang perlu dicatat jawaban Elias hampir sama dengan Rossi ketika koferensi pers di Jerez 2005......itu hal biasa dalam balapan......selamat untuk Toni Elias......and Casey "crash" Stoner

Saturday, March 17, 2007

Temporary halt to Ilmor GP's racing activities (Good bye Ilmor) - MotoGP's newest team, Ilmor, has called an immediate halt to its racing activities until desperately-needed sponsorship is secured.
Ilmor had hoped to find its full 2007 budget by competing in two rounds at the end of the 2006 season, thus proving to potential investors the seriousness of its 800cc project, but the team's X3 was still unbranded during last Saturday's season-opening Qatar Grand Prix - leaving Ilmor to foot the bill for chassis and engine development, plus race team running costs.
To make matters worse, riders Andrew Pitt and Jeremy McWilliams have been permanently trapped at the tail of the field - between 3-5secs per lap from the front - making the team's chances of attracting significant sponsorship slim. McWilliams subsequently missed Saturday's race through injury, while Pitt retired from last place with a technical problem.
As a result of such on- and off-track troubles, team principal Mario Illien has made the difficult decision to call what he hopes will be a temporary halt to Ilmor GP's racing activities - while continuing machine development.
"We discussed the situation in great detail internally and obviously it was an extremely difficult decision for us to make," said the F1 engine guru. "However once we went through all the options, we decided that the best course of action for the sake of the project as a whole would be to put the racing side of things on hold and continue developing.
"I would like to thank Dorna, IRTA, FIM and our technical partners and suppliers for their on-going support and patience during this time. My heart is still very much in the team - we have had fantastic support from the public and the media with some great coverage worldwide.

Thursday, March 15, 2007

Stoner Victory help Ducati and Rider for Health - Having seen new Ducati rider Casey Stoner take victory on his debut outing for the Italian team, Federico Minoli - CEO of Ducati Motor Holding - gave his Expert Eye view on the day's events to Obviously plesed with Stoner's magnificent performance, Minoli commented on the back-to-back Ducati wins that the factory team have experienced.
"It was great day for us, we've been doing very well all week and Casey rode very well. It is just a shame that Loris Capirossi couldn't fnish the race. The last two motogp raceshave been won by Ducati's oldest rider (Troy Bayliss) and now the youngest (Stoner)."
The win not only helps the team's chances, but it should also raise money for worthy cause. Stoner's seat, signed by the rider hinself and dedicated to Minoli, will be auctioned off for Riders For Health, the official MotoGP charity.
Result of MotoGP Qatar:
1. Casey Stoner AUS Ducati Marlboro Team (B) 43min 2.788 secs
2. Valentino Rossi ITA Fiat Yamaha Team (M) 43min 5.626 secs
3. Dani Pedrosa SPA Repsol Honda Team (M) 43min 11.318 secs
4. John Hopkins USA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP (B) 43min 11.859 secs
5. Marco Melandri ITA Gresini Honda (B) 43min 20.221 secs
6. Colin Edwards USA Fiat Yamaha Team (M) 43min 21.435 secs
7. Chris Vermeulen AUS Rizla Suzuki MotoGP (B) 43min 25.704 secs
8. Nicky Hayden USA Repsol Honda Team (M) 43min 25.845 secs
9. Alex Barros BRA Pramac d'Antin MotoGP (B) 43min 28.749 secs
10. Shinya Nakano JPN Konica Minolta Honda (M) 43min 31.244 secs
11. Alex Hofmann GER Pramac d'Antin MotoGP (B) 43min 37.817 secs
12. Olivier Jacque FRA Kawasaki Racing Team (B) 43min 45.736 secs
13. Kenny Roberts USA Team Roberts (M) 43min 45.765 secs
14. Toni Elias SPA Gresini Honda (B) 43min 45.777 secs
15. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Dunlop Tech 3 Yamaha (D) 43min 54.427 secs
16. Makoto Tamada JPN Dunlop Tech 3 Yamaha (D) 44min 0.641 secs
Randy de Puniet FRA Kawasaki Racing Team (B)
Carlos Checa SPA Honda LCR (M)
Loris Capirossi ITA Ducati Marlboro Team (B)
Andrew Pitt AUS Ilmor GP (M)
B = Bridgestone
D = Dunlop
M = Michelin